Painted Carrion Emissary

This is the Carrion Emissary, a nice centrepiece model for my Malifaux Resurrectionist crews. The Carrion Emissary brings some rather useful abilities to Resurrectionist crews, having a really nice (short) ranged attack and the option to put down blocking terrain pieces called Shards of Kythera. On crowded boards this can be crippling to some crews all on its own. Not only that, but when the Shards disappear they can have a Mindless Zombie appear. This is, of course, very useful for anyone who wants corpse markers handy for either summoning (Nicodem) or attacking (Reva). One of the most interesting things about the Carrion Emissary is that it can choose from one of eight free upgrades; a generic one and a specific one for each master. I’ve prefered the generic one in most cases as there is often a frustrating anti-synergy to go with the benefits of the master-specific upgrades (and I should point out that most people seem to prefer to pay for My Little Helper anyway so that a second set of Shards can be employed).

I painted up the Emissary sort of like a big crow, but realised that a black beak didn’t look right so it got a light brown beak instead. It was really nice to play with a large model like this and I spent a bit longer highlighting the wings than normal. The clothes ended up looking a bit like it’s cosplaying as Obi-Wan Kenobi but this wasn’t intentional; anyway I like the contrast with the dark feathers. There is supposed to be some kind of skull doo-dah in the right hand but it kept falling off so in the end I just gave up on trying to keep it attached.

I would like to dedicate this post to ‘Jewel-y‘ (i.e. Jewel of July) as proposed by the excellent Azazel. I always love their hobby blogging challenges even when I don’t take part.

Next on the painting table: Anna Lovelace

Categories: Malifaux, Painting and modelling | Tags: , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Painted Carrion Emissary

  1. Now that’s a cool looking mini! I love what you’ve done with him mate – I’d love to see that done all Tzeentchy too!

    • Cheers. That’s a good call to use this chap for Warhammer stuff; it would make an excellent basis for a Lord of Change.

  2. Ann

    Very cool. I like people and I like crows, so I really like crow people!

  3. I’ve not kept up to date with a Malifaux minis and you keep pulling out some quality ones. Love the detail on the wings, you’ve done a really good job with this.

    • Thanks very much. Wyrd make pretty good miniatures for Malifaux, I just wish that they were a bit less awkward to assemble.

  4. That’s a great mini and you’ve done a great job on it. Nice colour choices as well with the cream and brown robes over the black/dark grey of the crow-feathers.

  5. Pingback: The Jewel of July 2018 – Community Round-Up | Azazel's Bitz Box.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.