Painted Barathrum

Here is Barathrum, a character Warjack to go in my Warmachine Cryx force. In this context ‘character’ means that they are unique for some combination of fluff or game reasons; anyway, I can only have one Barathrum in my army regardless of how cool it is. The main reason I picked up Barathrum as opposed to any other Cryx heavy Warjack is that it is specifically allowed in the Scourge of the Broken Coast theme force, and since that is the one I’ve been buying miniatures for, I figured that Barathrum should also be in my collection. So far, I haven’t seen any particular synergies that link Barathrum to the Satyxis (about whom more later) that make up the majority of the theme force so I assume that there is some kind of story reason for its inclusion.

I really struggled to get started with Barathrum’s paint job since it is covered in various layers and raised edges I was hardly sure how to approach it. In the end, I more or less painted from the inside to the outside with black for most of the carapace and bronze for the edging. Of course, I also used pink for some of the bits and bobs to bring a bit of colour to the otherwise rather drab machine. There are also elements that I assume are supposed to be actual bone so I painted them accordingly; this is probably because Cryx are the baddy faction and prone to adorning their stuff with skulls etc. Indeed, they’d look quite fine in the Warhammer 40,000 universe. One of the things I like about Barathrum’s miniature is that it is rather more dynamic than most Warjacks in the PP range. Barathrum is clearly advancing whereas most of the other Warjacks are just standing around like they’re admiring themselves in a gym mirror (I consider this particularly fitting since they generally give the impression of having skipped leg day a few times too many). There are meant to be a couple of tusks on the side of Barathrum’s head but I couldn’t get them to look good during assembly so they went straight into the bits box.

I dedicate this post to Azazel’s Mechanical November Challenge. I’ll admit that this is a bit of a cheat because I was planning to paint Barathrum anyway and it just happens to coincide with the hobby challenge; still, it’s not like anyone has any money riding on this so I’m going to count it anyway.

Next on the painting table: Hunzakut with Rifle and Light Grenade Launcher

Categories: Painting and modelling, Warmachine | Tags: , | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Painted Barathrum

  1. Looks great. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Great work here. The pink works really nicely alongside the black, as does the gold edging. I can certainly see where this thing skipped leg day, too!
    No stress about the fact that you were going to paint this model anyway. That’s what the challenges are for – to hook in with the models that people have already started work on or wanted to paint anyway. So you’re completely on point here. šŸ‘

    • Thanks. I gave up long ago trying to make fantasy death robots look realistic so the pink and black scheme works to help Barathrum and others stick out on the tabletop.

      Thanks again for doing the community challenges; I’m always so impressed that you run them alongside your own titanic painting output.

      • With the exception of the community Roundup posts it doesn’t actually involve too much to set them up. Having said that the round up post to getting pretty extreme these days!

  3. Dude, that is an awesome paint job!

  4. Really nice paint job šŸ‘šŸ¼

  5. Cool! Deffo skipped leg day though šŸ˜‰

    • Thanks! The whole ‘huge torso, tiny legs’ is a bit of a common occurrence with Warjacks in the Warmachine range so I suppose it is intentional. Barathrum is a worse offender than most though.

  6. Wow, that’s a cool color combo going on. Never would have thought about throwing the gold in with the black and pink. Ace, man!

    • Thank you. There is just too much bling on Barathrum not to have a lot of colours going on. I’m really pleased with how this has worked out.

  7. Pingback: Mechanical November ā€™18: Monthly Hobby Challenge – Community Round-Up | Azazel's Bitz Box.

  8. Pingback: Dauntless/Diabolical December 2018 – Community Round-Up | Azazel's Bitz Box.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.