Painted Austringers

This pair of gentlemen are Guild Austringers for Malifaux. They are really, really good in the game; indeed they are one of the few pieces that I think could afford to be a whole soulstone (i.e. point) more expensive and still be worth it. Not only do they have a decent ranged attack which ignores line of sight, cover and (often) randomising into combats, but they also have an ability to move a friendly piece and let it take an interact action. The latter ability is golden in Malifaux, as this effectively means ‘push your model around and score points’. Strangely, they also pack a gun, though why anyone would use it over the bird is a mystery to me except in a handful of rare situations. In my experience one of these chaps is enough in a crew; however on the internet it seems that they are frequently recommended in pairs.

The miniatures are rather annoying and fiddly to put together, with lots of hanging straps etc. Of course, attaching the birds with their tiny spindly legs is the most prone to breakage and I am sure that it is only a matter of time before I’m re-gluing them together. Despite (or perhaps because of) all the detailed strapping I found them quite uninspiring to paint. Their coats are the same red as the rest of my Guild. I briefly considered painting the Malifaux Raptors in the colours of hyacinth macaws just to make them brighter, but I couldn’t find a way to do it without it being rather garish.

133

134

136

135

Next on the painting table: Brutal Effigy.

Categories: Malifaux, Painting and modelling | Tags: , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Painted Austringers

  1. Flames of the Phoenix

    It is good to see that you are still keeping up with the painting. You seem to be churning out quite a few models lately. Keep up the good work!

    • Great to see you active again! How is your gaming going? I hope that you’ve been able to reignite your hobby; it would be lovely to see more posts on your excellent blog.

      Thanks for the nice words too; I’ve been enjoying painting these Malifaux miniatures a lot recently.

      • Flames of the Phoenix

        I have been playing lots and lots of board games, but not any miniature games. I have sold almost all of the High Elves, but still have a bit to get through.

        With that being said, I do still have a lot of Lord of the Rings miniatures sitting around that I have been thinking of and some of my board game pieces are asking to be painted, so there might be updates to my blog in the future. Only time will tell!

  2. Very nice!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.