Painted Shadowcat

This is Shadowcat, yet another member of the Uncanny X-Men affiliation for Marvel Crisis Protocol. Perhaps unsurprisingly for someone whose superpowers are about becoming incorporeal, Shadowcat is an excellent piece for playing the scenario; she has a long move, a teleport superpower and even her attacks can trigger her to move places. Her attacking is somewhat unexciting but I’ve found that she does do better than I initially expected because her victims don’t get to count crit results in defence. But attacking isn’t really what you bring Shadowcat for – she wants to rush in, collect an Extract and then run off somewhere safe.

I enjoyed painting Shadowcat. Naturally, her black-and-yellow costume is tailor-made to be the most annoying set of colours to work with on a mini but once I got past that I found that she painted up very nicely. The Sentinel arm base is more than something for her to stand on, it shows her phasing through it with her leg and hand – if you look closely you can see her fingers poking out of the far side of it. That little touch really made the whole mini for me; I love stuff like that.

Next on the painting table: Professor X.

Categories: Marvel Crisis Protocol, Painting and modelling | Tags: | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Painted Shadowcat

  1. Kitty looks good, mate! She’s one of my favorite X-Men characters because of the Astonishing X-Men comics.

    She seems like she’d be a hard character to balance in-game. She can technically reach into someone’s chest and remove a vital organ so you can make an argument she’s nearly unstoppable. Having said that, I don’t think that would make for very good gaming…

    • Except Kitty (at least the one I remember) would never do that! Although that does make me wonder why they never made a villain with phasing powers like that? I’m sure they have at some point, and you also have ones that can just touch you and kill you anyways. But where’s the fun in that?!

      • Thanks both! Theoretically the MCP characters represent them at a particular point I their story, so I assume that this one is Kitty as a young Mutant in Xavier’s school and not (as later) in her guise as space pirate captain!

        Brian, I’d also be surprised if there isn’t a baddie out there with similar superpowers, but I can’t really think of any either.

        • Yea, it seems so odd. I’m reading classic Avengers with my daughter currently and there are a number of times that the Vision’s powers get countered though. So it’s not as if it’s an ultimate power. Force fields, frequency manipulation, etc. can work as defenses.

  2. Very cool

  3. Ah, I missed this post the first time around! Looks like you’re getting better at painting those side by side contrasting colors. Can be such a challenge. I agree on the mini, it’s a great pose with her phasing through the Sentinel’s hand! I also like that they added Lockheed. I’m glad they didn’t pose him off her shoulder, like normal, because that would have blocked a chunk of the main character.

  4. Thanks! You’re right about Lockheed – she’s already quite a busy mini and I think that he works better on the base.

  5. Pingback: 5 on Friday 21/06/24 – No Rerolls

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.