Painted Hunters

These are my painted Hunters for my Guild in Malifaux. They’re another piece that has improved in power in the change from 1.5 to M2E, as I think that they were regarded as a bit rubbish in the first version of Malifaux (though I didn’t own them at the time). Right now in Malifaux 2nd edition they are really good and I love to play them all the time. Firstly, they are giant metal sabretooth tigers, which is a plenty good enough reason to play them anyway, but also their rules make them highly effective. They’re somewhat fast and tough; not super-resilient like an Illuminated, but enough that they take work to put down before they do what I need. The Hunter packs a ranged attack that causes slow on hit (i.e. they don’t have to damage) as well as a built-in trigger to drag their hapless foes towards them. All their attacks against unactivated enemies get positive flips which can help get this action off against targets in cover. On top of all that, they have a fairly tasty melee attack and an end-of-turn push to get them where they need to be. All in all, I think that Hunters are well worth their cost, which is probably why I seem to have a pair of them in just about every Guild crew at the moment. I like to play them out wide where they can sweep up enemy scheme runners under their weight class then come in and pressure the centre in the mid game.

There is not much to say about the painting. Like the Watcher I felt that it matched my vision of the Guild more to have them as plain metal rather than some fancy enamelled colour, though I did put my usual red colour on their curiously exposed wiring. The miniatures themselves are rather boringly mirror images of each other. Unfortunately the harpoon was a point of attachment to the sprue so I ended up snapping one off while cleaning it up. Luckily, it allows me to easily differentiate the models for in-game purposes.

014

015

017

016

Next on the painting table: Guardian.

Categories: Malifaux, Painting and modelling | Tags: , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Painted Hunters

  1. I like the look of those models, sinister and predatory 🙂

    How large are they? What size is the base? Are they available separately to a full crew box?

    • They are indeed pretty nice looking miniatures.

      Those are 50 mm bases, so they’re about that length from nose to tail and probably ~15 mm to the shoulder.

      As far as I know they are only available in the Of Metal And Flesh box at the moment, which also contains the Hoffman, his totem, a Watcher and a Guardian. Needless to say all of those will appear on this blog in due course. Probably most of the contents of the box could look amazing and fit right in to your blog.

  2. Yes, I agree, they are sinister looking.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

