Painted Thyra, Flame of Sorrow

This is Thyra, Flame of Sorrow, my first painted Warcaster for the fledgling Protectorate of Menoth force. Unusually for me I’ve not got much to say about her playstyle as I haven’t got enough games in with her to make any conclusions. Her abilities make her seem like a turbo-charged Daughter of the Flame. Naturally, I regard this as a good thing. My experience with WarmaHordes has made me a bit cautious about Warcasters with a focus on melee assassination as you need to make sure you get it to work or you’ll surely die in the following turn.

Anyway, painting-wise I loved this miniature; a good painter could really make something special out of it. There is so much bling on her that every edge feels like it is worth an extra flick of the paintbrush. Though I do wonder how she gets around so acrobatically with such armour and robing on. I guess a wizard did it.

001

002

004

003

Next on the painting table: Mr Tannen (for real this time)

Categories: Painting and modelling, Warmachine | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Painted Thyra, Flame of Sorrow

  1. That’s good work. I particularly like the 2nd picture with the shading on the dress and also the gold trim. It’s a nice combination.

    • Thanks very much. I was a bit hesitant about how much to play up the over-decoration since Thyra is meant to be a melee fighter, and presumably wouldn’t want to be burdened with all the bling.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

