Painted Toshiro, the Daimyo

It’s been a long while since I painted a Malifaux miniature.  First the advent of Malifaux second edition made me want to stop spending money on the system in case I didn’t like it, then the fact that I had all these new exciting rules to go with my old miniatures meant that I didn’t want to buy more, then the second wave of new rules came in and I played with them a lot too.  But while all that was happening, Joe decided that he was getting out of Ten Thunders and Resurrectionists and very generously gave me his unpainted Toshiro.  So, here he is.  I’m not really sure why I decided to give him a pink coat; it seemed like a good idea at the time (and was fun to paint) but it does seem a bit garish in retrospect.

In game I’ve found he’s lots of fun.  Of course, he synergises nicely with Yan Lo who can bring him back from the dead (again) with the Reliquary upgrade and brings the Soul Porter to push him round as needed.  But in fact Toshiro feels like a good fit in any crew with a lot of minions as he improves their melee attacks and can give them Fast or Focus as needed. Naturally, as I favour crews with a lot of minions this means that I can see plenty of opportunities to get Toshiro into action.  I’ve generally taken his upgrade Command the Graves as for a single Soulstone the ability to summon in an Ashigaru (or Komainu, though I haven’t actually done this yet) feels worth it for the threat even if I rarely actually get it off.  He won’t often take more than weak damage due to Hard to Wound 2 so his main worry is either a lot of incoming attacks or a small number with high weak damage.

001
003
006
004

At a recent event I attended, there was another, far better painted, Toshiro in attendance courtesy of Tattyted.  I am in awe of the freehand work on the trousers and jacket in particular. The comparison doesn’t show my effort in a great light!

006
007

Next on the painting table: Typhon.

Categories: Malifaux, Painting and modelling | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Painted Toshiro, the Daimyo

  1. I like it, particularly the open wound in the chest 🙂

    • Thanks very much. I was a little worried it would end up blending into the trousers and jacket, but a bit of vintage purple ink really brought out the colour.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

