Painted Blighted Ogrun Warspears

Here are my painted Blighted Ogrun Warspears, the only unit so far in my tiny Legion of Everblight collection.  They come in the starter box so I suppose that they are among the most commonly owned units out there.  I’ve really enjoyed playing these guys.  For a start, they are used very differently rules-wise to the Warbeasts so that alone makes a welcome change.  They can get a couple of attacks per turn thanks to their ability to Assault charge targets (i.e. throw spears at them) and I feel like that would be really useful if I wasn’t so bad at the game.  As it stands, they seem to get jammed up or otherwise prevented from charging with alarming regularity.  They seem to work pretty well with Lylyth, Herald of Everblight, as her Feat hugely improves their accuracy.  I tried them with Thagrosh, Prophet of Everblight, and they were quite handy for blocking line of sight to his base (which is also 40mm) but they had an annoying interaction with his Fog of War spell which makes them less accurate for the most part.  I suppose that this could be played around without too much problem but it caused me some headaches when I tried it.

One thing I find hilarious about their rules is that they cause Terror.  This is not unreasonable considering that they are huge bloodthirsty brutes, but the character Warbeast Typhon (more on him later) doesn’t have this rule, despite his fluff stating ‘Even those accustomed to horrors and numb to violence find the site of Typhon terrifying’.  In other words, big men with spears are scary, but monstrous three-headed dragons are fine.

They’re pretty chunky miniatures and filled with details.  I really enjoyed painting the Warspears with all the little belts and so on after the two-tone paint job required by the Shredders and Carnivean. I did tie them in to the Warbeasts by sharing the same skin colour and making the armour the same as the scales.

011

I suppose that this would be the minimum unit.  I’ve been playing the one with the cape as the unit leader since he is the only unique miniature.  I might have gone a bit overboard on the colours but I was keen to use something other than just the pink armour and white skin tones for these.

012
013
017
016

This is the pair to take the unit up to the full five.  I usually use the unit attachment in game (to make them six strong and get a few bonus rules) but I don’t actually own the miniature yet so he’s always been proxied.

019
020
023
022

Next on the painting table: Lylyth, Herald of Everblight.

Categories: Hordes, Painting and modelling | Tags: , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Painted Blighted Ogrun Warspears

  1. Nice work. I really like the highlighting/shading on the plated leg armor. Their spears look bit small for how big their hands are. I guess that maybe that is the idea for a throwing spear, but I think that these guys are selling themselves short.

    You’re not that bad at the game. Don’t you actually win some games? For somebody bad a a game, see my blog for reference :).

    • Thanks very much. I guess I don’t really know much about weapons so it didn’t occur to me until you pointed out how short the spears are. In-game, they can throw them so I assume that they’re meant to be javelins of some sort really.

      These miniatures are actually from Privateer Press’s Warmachine / Hordes, at which I am truly terrible. I only have a few opponents so far – Furycat, Joe and Mrs Argentbadger; any game we win has usually been because the other player made an even more catastrophic error! I haven’t bothered to post any battle reports on here yet, mainly for reasons of pictures (WarmaHordes has individual movement of miniatures so it’s hard to do in something like Battle Chronicler) though I do have an ongoing thread on the PP forum about them in the hope of learning something. The non-WFB games posted on this blog are mostly Malifaux, which I am not bad at.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

