Tuskgor Chariot conversion 2

It’s been so long since I posted anything about Beastmen that any random visitors here might be confused by the blog subtitle ‘A Warhammer Beastmen Blog’. Well, it is time to briefly rectify this lapse with a kit-bashed Tuskgor Chariot.  Long-time readers will be aware of my preference for plastic over metal as a miniature medium, and specifically my dislike for the proper GW Tuskgor Chariot kit.  A while ago, I received a High Elf Chariot as a gift; the lions were duly co-opted into my Ogresses’ force as Sabretusks, and now I’ve completed my nefarious plan by using the rest of the pieces of the chariot.  The Ghorgon kit contains a ridiculous number of skulls in varying formats so I put of few of them hanging on the chariot to make it look more Beastman-ish and the shields from the Gor kit are conveniently the exact correct size to hide all the fine workmanship of the Elven wheels behind a lump of wood and bone.  The individual pieces here are all just blue-tacked together for photo purposes; I’m only going to glue it all together after the painting is complete.

009

019

011

The beasts of burden are the remaining pair of Chaos Warhounds after the six I painted as a unit and the two pulling my other Tuskgor chariot.  The two halves of the body still fit together terribly.  Luckily, this perfectly matches my skill with Milliput and a camera.

016

The Gor is modelling the hands from the High Elf crewman because I like the look of the the reins.  They’re a bit fiddly since the only contact point at the moment is the wrist where I removed the driver’s original hands but when I get this all painted they’ll be glued on at the other end too.  Despite the reputation for some High Elf miniatures to have outrageous monkey hands, these are somewhat too small but I don’t think it’ll be too noticeable.  Since the Gor is unarmed (apart from his horns, which I imagine are tricky to use as a weapon while driving a chariot) the Bestigor has taken on the additional responsibility and packed a spare axe.

018

010

021

020

Categories: Painting and modelling, Warhammer Fantasy Battle | Tags: , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Tuskgor Chariot conversion 2

  1. Great Conversion! way better then the GW one!

  2. Im not as familiar with the Warhammer fantasy ranges as I once was, but I do know that I wouldnt go near a metal or finecast chariot myself.

    A suitably different colour scheme to the familiar elven ones and it wont obviously be a repurposed elven machine on the table either. Good stuff. Now get painting 😉

    • Thanks. I suppose that the Beastman Tuskgor chariot is probably one of the last metal chariots in GW’s range, as they are moving over to plastic in almost everything. Despite the terrible reputation of Finecast, it’s not considered a problem in my group as I have the Firebelly which is great, and Furycat has a few of the Empire heroes in the same material, also with high quality.

      I haven’t decided for certain, but I expect that this will end up with a similar paint scheme to my previous chariot, i.e. dark brown wood. I’m hoping that the skulls etc adorning it will be sufficient to avoid an overtly Elven appearance.

  3. That is a nice looking chariot. Good work. Are you going to do anything to obscure the design on the front of the chariot (the part right behind the hounds)?

    • Thank you very much. I’m not sure about the design on the front. When building the kit I considered putting something there but it’s actually pretty hard to see as it’s angled forward slightly and (of course) has the Warhounds in front of it. I think I’ll see how it looks with a bit of paint on; some skulls or other Beastman bling might go on if needed.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

