Painted Wastrels

So a little while ago, I bought the Masters of the Path box set as I thought that Yan Lo had some fairly amusing mechanics in-game (after playing a bit, I can confirm that this is the case).  When I opened it up, looking forward to sticking the miniatures together, it turned out to actually contain the Relic Hunters sprue and cards.  I put this to Wyrd’s mis-pack service and they very promptly sent me out a replacement box but this meant that I had effectively acquired Lucas McCabe’s box for free.  It seemed churlish not to make use of this stroke of fortune so I eagerly assembled and painted the Wastrels.  They are absolutely lovely miniatures with good sculpts, lots of character and very enjoyable to paint.  The obvious Clockwork Orange nod is also a nice touch.  In game, they are very mobile but I have to admit that I haven’t really done much other than irritate people into moving to counter them.  Not that this is so bad as it gives good board control but it does mean that I haven’t seen the full gamut of their abilities.  In addition, I almost never remember to use their cast-offs which may limit their efficacy.

IMGP2948

My love of bright colours got the better of me on this chap as I felt he was too dark without the red neckerchief.  The monocle didn’t really come out too well but otherwise I am very happy with the look of this one.

IMGP2949
IMGP2950

The pose of the leaning Wastrel is just so characterful that he was a joy to paint.  I am not sure what has happened to his face in the photo as that enormous mould line isn’t noticeable in real life.  As always I see a few bits to touch up now that I have the photos, which show mistakes that my eyes aren’t good enough to spot.  Perhaps that is for the best.

IMGP2951
IMGP2952

The final Wastrel is another with almost tangible personality.  I love the way his facial expression compliments the aggressive pose.

IMGP2953
IMGP2954

Next on the painting table: Ashigaru.

Categories: Malifaux, Painting and modelling | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

