Painted Santiago Ortega

Here is Santiago Ortega, the shootier brother (or cousin, who knows?) of Francisco. He’s really nice in game, as his shooting is excellent and he even gets better if he’s injured. I’ve heard of people deliberately shooting him in the back on turn 1 to get this effect, but never tried it. My experience has generally been that he gets taken out in one turn so I never get the benefit, or he gets stuck in combat with something and never escapes. Partnering him with Francisco helps to mitigate that a little since the latter is actually competent in melee, but neither is exactly robust.

As for the miniature, I love it. So much character and such a lovely pose. It was like it painted itself. Santiago is meant to be some sort of Mexican gunslinger (so presumably should have dark hair) but as soon as I took him out of the box I knew he was going to get ginger hair. I think it fits him quite nicely. And apparently at least one other person did, as I won ‘best painted miniature‘ for him at Skirmish Showdown, an achievement which makes me a happy geek.

Next on the painting table: Nino Ortega.

Categories: Malifaux, Painting and modelling | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

