Great Bray Shaman conversion

I am long overdue to create a Great Bray Shaman to lead my mighty warherd into the fray.  For the last few months, my Bray Shaman has been acting as the general, but inspiration has now reached the stage of actually putting together a new character.  In terms of building him, I just used a combination of the ideas I put into practice on my other heroes, the Wargor and the Bray Shaman.  The body is a normal Gor, though I was careful to select one that has a knife on his belt to represent the Jagged Dagger.  The head is also a Gor, though the horns are from the Bestigor Gouge-Horn.  All the Bestigor heads are too armoured to make good wizards, but the Gor horns aren’t impressive enough.  Like the Wargor, the cloak is from a Warrior of Chaos.  This time I was much more careful cleaning it up and (unusually for me) didn’t cut myself in the process.  Since I almost always equip the Great Bray Shaman with Steel Claws, I had to think of something suitable.  Luckily, I was able to take some Lightning Claws left over from some Terminators that Furycat has in his collection.  As weapons they look hopelessly impractical, but the overall effect is rather pleasing.

How is it that however smooth I think I’ve done the Milliput, it always looks really rough in the photos.  Oh well, the camera never lies.

I went for a ‘standing tall and shouting defiance and rage at the uncaring sky’ kind of pose, which I’m happy with although it does mean he’s leaning backwards a little.  Overall, I’m really pleased with the way this came out.  Now I just need to get on and put some paint on him.

Categories: Painting and modelling, Warhammer Fantasy Battle | Tags: , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Great Bray Shaman conversion

  1. He kinda looks like he is falling back a little..Especially in a the 3rd picture.

    I like it though.Maybe add a braystaff across the back to show he is a wizard?

    • Thanks. I know what you mean about his awkward lean. It actually doesn’t look quite as terrible in real life as it does when blown up to huge-photo-size.

      Regarding the Braystaff, I wish I’d thought of it before. But I’m not sure if there’s anywhere good to put it. Both hands are full, he’s got a dagger and a load of other bling festooning his body and the cloak covers the whole of his back. Even as it is, I’m concerned that the miniature is a little too ‘busy’. I could just stick it into the ground like the shield for my Wargor BSB, but then it’ll basically just looks as though he’s standing next to a stick festooned with skulls.

  2. Hey, good idea on the conversion. I think it will fit in well with the rest of your force. I must admit that I’m not a huge fan of the claws, but that’s just me… They kinda remind me of futuristic stuff that shouldn’t be in the warhammer world… I was thinking that the O&G’s have some bits that would go perfectly for this conversion, as they are longer and more “beat up” looking. Again, please don’t take that in the wrong way, it’s just my 2 cents. Overall though, I think it looks good and you have definitely achieved the bellowing / roaring effect. Nice job!

    • Thanks for the kind words. It’s really nice to be able to see what people think of my work, and I hope that I can learn from the feedback.

      I get what you mean about the high-technology look of the lightning claws. On the right hand I cut them down to just the claws themselves, but the left hand had a bunch of skulls on the knuckles that I just couldn’t resist leaving on. I’m going to try to paint these to look fairly battered, which could mitigate the effect a little.

      On the other hand, conoisseurs of old-school Warhammering might remember that, in both Slaves to Darkness and The Lost and the Damned, technological gifts (e.g. futuristic guns) could be received as gifts from the Chaos Powers by champions. I had some great times with those books…

  3. I really like what you have done with it and it’s cool that you have the WYSIWYG going on, even though it required the extra conversion work. I look forward to seeing it painted up.

    • Thanks very much. Doing the work was actually pretty simple (I’m not very good, so anything I do is simple by definition). I’m trying to make this an all-plastic army, and there isn’t a plastic Beastmen Shaman miniature available, so it was kit-bash or nothing really. I’m looking forward to painting him and having him lead my warherd across the field in full colour.

  4. Very nice model, the steel claws are a work of genius!

    simonster@ simonfisherrofl.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

