Painted Bestigor herd

Here is my painted herd of Bestigors.  A bleating mob of enraged goaty lumberjacks storming across the field at them has been the last sight for many a disciplined unit of my foes.  Sadly, their improbable success on the table has sometimes doomed them to a sad end under a barrage of artillery fire or otherworldly magic, but I take that as a compliment on how scary this herd can be.  It’s a well-known meme among our gaming group that painted models do better, so I am looking forward to seeing how the Bestigors get on now that they are dressed to kill.

The painting was quite a nice change after all the Gors.  Bestigors have hardly any skin and hair showing (at least, compared to the Gors and Ungors), so it was good to be able to break out some nice blues for the clothing and bronze for the armour.  I mainly decided on bronze for contrast with the sea of grey and black that makes up the majority of my war herd, but as it turns out it contrasts nicely with the blue robes too.

I’ve always liked the way these chaps look when ranked up.  All you can see sticking out over the mass of unwashed goat bodies is horns and huge axes.

The three amigos.  Due to the way victory points are counted in 8th edition Warhammer Fantasy Battle, the herd only counts as destroyed if it’s wiped out the last Beastman.  As a result I’ve had more than a few games where a handful of survivors has hung on to the points for the entire unit – they’re always in the thick of the fighting (if I can help it) and inevitably take a few casualties every combat.

Depending on how the battle goes, the Gouge Horn is either the first or last to die.  If a challenge comes in from a mighty hero then this chap gets pushed in his way until I can thin out the ranks of the other unit.  He’s no slouch in combat, though I can’t think of a time I’ve actually taken a character down in a challenge with him.

There’s not much to be said about the musician.  He was a lot easier to paint than the rank and file because he doesn’t have a giant axe blade covering half of his head.

The banner isn’t exactly the finest painting in the world, but I just don’t really enjoy doing pictures on flat surfaces.  I originally was going to do a few details, but after getting the moon on the blue background I decided that I liked it just like that.  Beastmen aren’t artists either, I suppose.  At least it looks a lot less bad at tabletop distance.

Next on the painting table: the Wargor Battle Standard Bearer.

Categories: Painting and modelling, Warhammer Fantasy Battle | Tags: , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Painted Bestigor herd

  1. oh man! those look fantastic.

    way to finally get motivated.

    try bestigors in a horde. Hard to protect them, but when they get to CC, they eradicate units

    • Thanks. Actually, it’s not so much that I haven’t been motivated to paint and more that it always takes me ages to paint things. I’ve been working on these on and off for a couple of months.

      I’ve never tried out a Bestigor horde – you find that it does enough damage to be worth sacrificing the flexibility of (for example) two smaller units? My experience has been that even units 20 to 25 strong can blend many things they hit, although of course they have their limits.

      • The horde is most certainly worth the points. bestigors are all about maximizing their attacks, and that third rank is CRUCIAL i’ve found.

        They need the stubborn crown/ Gen/hero. You don’t want to botch one round and lose this unit.

        It CAN feel eggs all in one basket, but i’ve had them just massacre other units. It’s a good unit to center the army around. Gors on one flank, ungors on the other and just razorgors/ chariots/ etc running around like wild animals….which they are.

        • I like the sound of that; I’ll try it out sometime and see how it goes. Do you recommend about 40 strong (including characters) or go for more to weather the inevitable casualties when closing with your victims?

  2. Very nice. Grats :).

    • Thanks very much. They were really satisfying to paint, apart from the left side of their faces (which was annoying to get to because of the positions of the axes).

  3. Nice job on the Bestigors. You’re right, too… for some reason, models tend to work better when they’re fully painted so my hats off to you for getting them done. I like the snow theme that you got going on there too. I actually don’t mind the banner either, it’s simple and gets the point across (that Beastmen aren’t artists). Lookin’ forward to the BSB.

    • Thanks. My painting skills aren’t up the amazing talent you’ve shown on your blog, but one advantage of Warhammer Fantasy Battle (where big blocks of troops are the norm) is that a decent effect can be achieved for the group even when the individual paint jobs are nothing special.

      It’s interesting that the ‘painted models roll better’ is a theory in other gaming groups.

  4. Looks nice. I particularly like the dirty look of the axes and the contrast of the snow with the dark models is nice, too.. As far as the painted models fighting better; that must have been my problem this whole time… I look forward to seeing the BSB painted.

    • Thanks. I chose the snow basing partly for a change (I’ve never been very dedicated to basing miniatures before this army) and partly to contrast with the dark colours on the Beastmen. It is even more useful with the Gors since they are mostly just skin and hair, which are both very dark in this army.

      I see from your excellent blog that you won’t have the ‘problem’ of unpainted models for much longer.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

