Painted Ungor herd

I’ve finally finished painting a unit of Ungors, and I’m looking forward to putting them on the table tonight against Justinmatters‘ Orcs & Goblins. Some of these little guys have previously featured on my blog in this article, but this time they’re mixed in with the new Ungors; new in this context referring to both the sculpts and the paint job. Those of you who are paying attention will notice that although I have invariably fielded Ungors in units of thirty, there are only 28 of the little blighters here. So lately, on the table top they’ve been recruiting the occasional Skaven, Night Goblin or Empire Swordsman to fill out their ranks. The other two Ungors can join in when I get round to buying another box.

Anyway, without further ado, here are some pretty pictures.

Here are the herd in all their glory.  The main thing that this picture tells me is that the Ungors could do with a better highlight on their heads.  And that I should sort out the eyes on the standard bearer, although in fairness he’s a pretty dopey-looking chap so maybe they ought to stay as they are.

The inevitable last three survivors, though I don’t think it’s ever come to that (the cowards have usually long since fled the table before there’s any danger of being wiped out to the last Ungor).

The dashing Halfhorn.  His shield is coated in what Ungors probably think of as flashy gubbins so I assumed that it was intended to go on him.  In general I find painting shields pretty dull, but this one (and, admittedly, many of the other Ungor shields) has plenty of character and class.

Here’s the standard bearer in all his village-idiot glory.  I’m quite happy with the banner.  I did consider painting a device on it, but in the end I decided that there is so much going on with all the skulls and suchlike that it didn’t really need it.  The severed Elf head hanging from it looks a bit rubbish though, but I couldn’t think of a good way to make it looks like it is starting to decay.  It’s simply green wash over the skin tone to make it look a bit sickly.  Lucky for me that the flag is the focal point of the model.

There’s not really much to say about the musician, except that in real life the horn doesn’t look quite so enormous; it’s just the perspective.  Now that I see him in super close-up photography, I’m not particularly pleased with the way he looks, but the entire unit is only about 170-odd points so he’ll do for now.  It’s not like I’m going to be entering him in a painting competition or anything.

Finally, I just like this Ungor.  He’s so surly and arrogant, I think he’s saying ‘Yeah, I’m an Ungor.  What are you going to do about it?’

Next on the painting table: a Bray Shaman.

Categories: Painting and modelling, Warhammer Fantasy Battle | Tags: , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Painted Ungor herd

  1. Nice job on these dudes.

    Eventually, we might even have painted armies- probably some time in 2017, but still…

    • Cheers. At our current rate of progress, even 2017 is probably optimistic. Sadly, the ‘painted models perform better’ meme did not come true in their first game, although it would have been impressive if they had managed to hold out against 50 Orc Big ‘Uns.

  2. I really enjoy the last ungor. These models are quite good.
    The paint job is fantastic, the shields do need a light highlight to make them ‘pop’ a bit. As is, they get lost in the ungors. Contrast is always good in miniature.

    Way to go! My ungors are in a sad state….and this may make me pay attention to them…

    possibly.

    • Thanks. I really like these miniatures, they have great character with their little spiteful expressions and pot bellies. I see what you mean about the shields, but I think it’s something I’ll come back to later, once more of my army is painted.

      You’re very kind about the paint job too, and I take it as a paricular compliment coming from you since you have such great models on your blog.

      I’m looking forward to seeing your Ungors painted up, since I’m a sucker for quality Beastmen paint jobs.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

