Tuskgor Chariot Conversion

I’ve finally assembled a Tuskgor Chariot, converted (or, strictly speaking, kit-bashed) from a handful of other sets of miniatures.  This was, of course, mainly to keep everything in the army 100 % plastic as I’ve long since joined Justinmatters on the ‘I hate metal’ bandwagon.  It only took about 3 months after noting it on my ‘to do’ list to actually get round to it, although in my defense a large part of that time was deciding whether to use Chaos Warhounds as the draft animals, or take the plunge and go for the new Orc Boar Boyz.  In the end, the Warhounds won because you get twice as many of them in the pack (i.e 10 Warhounds rather than 5 Boars); that I can also use the rest of them in my army was a bonus.

So the Tuskgors were ‘replaced’ by Warhounds which were just used straight from the box, with a few spines shaved from the back of one of them to make the chariot brace fit better.  The Chariot itself is an Orc Boar Chariot with some of the fittings removed, again to make a better fit with the Warhounds.  I’ve left out the scythes from the wheels; apparently Orcs are clever enough to put giant blades on their chariots for the impact hits; Beastmen are not.

The Gor is a regular Gor with his right hand weapon cut off and replaced by the whip the Orc driver was using, and his left hand rotated 90° or so at the forearm so that I can (hopefully) make it look like he’s holding on to something when I glue it all together in the dim, distant future after it is all painted.

The Bestigor had a little work done on his right arm, mainly removing the severed head he was carrying round like a man-bag and moving the shoulder out a little.  I had to stick a bit of Milliput in there and used an even simpler version of the technique mentioned by Khorne53 to get it to look passingly like chainmail.  Again, I hope that when it all comes together it’ll look like he’s holding on to the side of the chariot as it bumps around maniacally.

The angle of this one doesn’t really  show anything more than that it is a rare sunny day here.

It turns out that two Beastmen have to be pretty good friends if they are to share the back of  a chariot.  I have no idea how they have enough room to fight in there, especially with that outrageous axe the Bestigor is showing off.

I remembered after seeing this photo to go back and fill in the wheel ‘hub caps’ with a bit of Milliput (they have a recess so that the scythes fit on nicely, but since I’m not using them it looks a bit silly).

The front-on angle doesn’t exactly show the Warhounds at their best.  I did a little bit of work to try and cover up the gap where the two halves of each miniature join together.  Luckily for me, it is much less of a mess in real life than it appears in this photo (or more accurately, since the camera never lies, the mess is much less visible in real life than it appears in this photo).

The Gor is, fortunately for me, obscuring the work I did on the Bestigor’s right arm so you’ll just have to assume that it looks good.

It was only after I finished putting this lot together that I found that I don’t actually have a chariot base to put them on, so my next task can be to acquire one before I finish painting them.  Luckily, this deadline will give me plenty of time.

Categories: Painting and modelling, Warhammer Fantasy Battle | Tags: , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Tuskgor Chariot Conversion

  1. Looking good dude. The only thing I can say about it is the yoke seems to float above the two hounds rather than sitting on their backs.

    • Thanks. You’re right about the yoke but I’m hopeful I can fix it when I have all the bits ready to glue. In these photos everything is held together by nothing more impressive than blue tack. There are five bits (i.e. two Warhounds, two charioteers and the chariot itself) that I’m keeping separate until I finish painting them.

  2. Looks very good!

    I’m with you on the ‘not a fan of metal’. The worst part of the old chariot was the metal pigs heads on the plastic bodies! Nothing worked….so I filled them with rubber cement and bound them together for 48 hours. Ugg…talk about a pain.

    Good use of the bestigor’s axe. That one never ranks up and is always an ‘extra’. It looks very wild and caught in the moment with him holding up. As if he’s about to charge and smash some soft, delicious, pointy eared elves.

    The yoke is a nice touch. Most people do some ‘chain’ thing, which physically wouldn’t work. the chariot at rest would tip over.

    I’d reconsider the boar boyz. They’re a great buy and those pigs make great Razorgors. Just amazing really. Yes, there’s less, but their bulk looks more savage than the hounds (my opinion)
    Plus, the Orcs make great conversion materials. I’ll post more pics of centigors to show.
    Good job!
    When can we see it painted?

    • Thanks as always. I’m fairly pleased with the look so far, but of course the final pose won’t be glued into position until it is fully painted. At my current rate of work, I expect this to be around 2025.

      I do really like the Boar Boyz kit so I would consider it in the future. I really liked Beastlord‘s chariot where they are used as the draft animals in particular. And it would have the advantage that everything would have hooves in the army which is worth something.

      I look forward to seeing your use of Orc parts in Centigors. Aren’t the boars a little small to make such mighty beasts as Razorgors though?

  3. It’s looking really good, I wouldn’t worry about the passengers having to be very good friends, they should be used to that by now.

    • Thanks. I figure that they’re used to goaty smells, but I still wonder how the Bestigor can possibly wield that huge axe he’s carrying without beheading his driver on the first swing.

      • Perhaps he doesn’t really care that much? He’s a free spirit, unconfined by the usual social norms of not decapitating people you know. Either that or they recruit the best duckers as chariot drivers.

  4. Consider this idea STOLEN! =D
    Great work man!

    • Thanks very much. Imitation is supposed to be the sincerest form of flattery, so I look forward to seeing your take on it.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

